Sorry, My Glam Squad Was Busy

Good morning world! (or the like 6 followers I have so far… same thing)

Today, I did a big breakfast in the hopes of getting myself through a long day of homework and studying. Finals are just around the corner for me, so my life is pretty darn chaotic.

With that, this post will be a [relatively] short one.*

It is said that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I think that’s kind of discriminatory. All the meals deserve equal respect.

[They] is kind. [They] is smart. [They] is important.

But, I’m probably just biased. I personally have a limited palette when it comes to breakfast. I have never been a fan of the typical weekend breakfast foods – pancakes, waffles, french toast, etc. That, frankly, is probably for the best, or this battle would be even tougher.

When I go to breakfast (very rare), which of course in my generation is now exclusively referred to as “going to brunch” and requires the best hair and makeup glam squad a girl can (cannot) afford to ensure every photo, even the candid ones, are flawless, I only attend for 1 reason — bottomless mimosas.

On weekends where I can sit in my oversized t-shirt, hair in a bun, remembering that in fact I am a law student with approximately $6 in my bank account, I make breakfast at home.

*that turned out to be a lie. why did I even think I’d be capable of keeping it short?

So without further adieu, here’s the breakfast I made this morning.

 

2 Large Eggs (over easy) – 4 SP

2 Slices of Ezekial Whole Grain Bread – 4 SP

2 TSP I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter (on the toast) – 2 SP

3 TBSP Pomegranate Seeds – 0 SP

1 Banana – 0 SP

2 Mandarin Oranges – 0 SP

Coffee with 1 TBSP Fat-Free Lactaid Milk – 1 SP

Total SP: 11

I have a hard time just pulling a mic drop at the end of these food descriptions. When I’m on the other side of a food blog, I want input. What did it taste like? Where did you get the ingredients or that cute plate? Would you make it again? You know, that practical life stuff. If you don’t like that info well, we can’t be friends. I’m chatty, get used to it. Okay, or just take my recipes and bounce, whatever. I’m not your mom. Do what you want.

So a couple things…

Firstly, I just bought this Ezekiel bread recently. I’ve used it once before for my PB & Banana ToastI don’t know what kind of voodoo goes into that stuff, but holy guacamole is it filling. It was a strugglefest to get through this breakfast after starting with a few bites of the toast. One piece would have been sufficient.

Secondly, you may notice my coffee in the background (in my adorable World Market mug – not an ad, just a shopping addict). A few notes on that.

Some people are really anti-coffee while dieting. People, I have been drinking coffee since I could sip it out of my mom’s mug when I was like 8 years old. Wise-parenting? Probably not, but don’t tell her that.

Also, I am a law student. That shouldn’t need qualification for why I drink coffee.

And finally, I use a minimal amount of milk (I’ve cut the sugar I used to use) and it’s Fat Free Lactaid Milk. Do you know what that means? It’s basically white water. If you’re wondering how I got it to look all pretty on top, that’s courtesy of this year’s birthday gift from the woman who got me hooked on coffee all those years ago. It’s just a handheld milk frother called an AeroLatte. I’m sure there are lots of other brands and options, but that’s what I’ve got and its pretty freaking awesome.

Okay my coffee rant needs to end, but one final thing: you haven’t lived until you’ve had Peet’s French Roast. My parents started drinking that before I was born, and it is the only coffee I will buy at home to brew. And don’t get the pre-ground crap version they sell at the grocery store, go to a Peet’s location and get it ground fresh.

 

Leave a Reply

