Arrivederci Protein Bar

I have a confession: I can be SUPER lazy when it comes to preparing meals for myself.

Cook a dozen dishes for a dinner party? No problem.

Whip up something fun for a potluck? Hell yea.

Put in more than 10 minutes of effort for my own lunch? Never happens.

Having grown up in a big Italian family, nothing makes me happier than spending time in the kitchen. Much of my childhood involved times like this: a million short, dark-haired ladies clambering on at their respective stations sharing stories, and parting like the red sea when the pasta pot was brought to the sink to be drained.

That is my ideal kitchen environment.

Somehow there was always room, even if it meant learning to shimmy between your sisters while holding a dozen tomatoes.

Today, as a busy student my opportunity to partake in those fun times is limited, and most days between the hours of 10am and 4pm I’m lucky to get more than just a protein bar into my life. What that means, however, is that when dinnertime finally comes around I am prone to overindulging because I’m absolutely famished.

So, I’ve been working on taking a few extra minutes and eating an actual lunch to help curb my hoover-like status at the end of the day.

Below is a little lunch idea that was totally spur of the moment, but really satisfying. Oh and it just happened to be the colors of the Italian flag, which helped inspire my little kitchen memory above.

Turkey Rollup & Veggies – 10 SP

1 Trader Joes Clay Oven Baked Whole Wheat Lavash – 6 SP 

5 Slices Hillshire Farms Naturals Slow Roasted Turkey Breast – 1 SP

2 oz Trader Joes Lite Shredded Mozzarella – 2 SP

1 oz Trader Joes Feta Cheese Spread – 1 SP

Tapatio Hot Sauce – 0 SP

1 C Cucumber – 0 SP

1 C Cherry Tomatoes – 0 SP

Total SP: 10

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Cheese and spice are my faves. It’s ridiculous that there are two different cheese items on this one rollup, but that darn feta spread is addictive, and I didn’t think to use it until the mozzarella was already on there.

Yes, the wrap itself should have had something green in it. Or at least something else healthy. But again, taking the time (you know like 10 minutes) for this was a stretch, so give me a break! At least it wasn’t yet another protein bar — baby steps.

Leave a Reply

