#avocadotoast

Guys, I’ve got great news… today’s food picture isn’t terrible!!

I’ve been trying to figure out where in my house I can get the best lighting at different times of day. Nighttime shots are the hardest — if you’ve got suggestions on how to get your dinner photos to look amazing without being grainy or shadowy, hook a sister up!

Also balancing a plate while shooting with an iPhone certainly isn’t the most professional situation ever, but work with what you’ve got, right?

Anyway, this delicious piece of toast was actually inspired by someone who is far better at food photography than I am. If you don’t follow @ariellesays on Instagram you’re missing out. In the last few weeks she posted a yummy shot of avocado toast with pomegranate seeds, so this morning I gave it a go.

And before you even think it (too late, huh?), yes I am basic. I’m posting a picture of avocado toast. The ultimate in millennial food. Honestly though, if you haven’t had some kind of avocado toast, you’re not really living. And if you just said to yourself “I don’t like avocado” you should just leave my site and never come back. But really. Go.

Avocado & Pomegranate Toast – 6 SP

1 Slice Ezekiel Whole Grain Bread – 2 SP

1/2 California Hass Avocado – 4 SP

1 TBSP Pomegranate Seeds – 0 SP

Total SP: 6

Obviously this “meal” is pretty simple, but I was already 20 minutes late and needed to get a move on. Plus, my poor little avocado friend was about to cross over to the dark side, and that would have been a heartbreaking loss.

My ratio of pomegranate seeds was a little excessive, many of them jumped overboard as I inhaled the toast over the kitchen sink, but there were no casualties from the avocado or the pomegranate to my white shirt, so I’m gonna call it a win.

In case you’re wondering: no, I don’t know the Arielle behind the Instagram. She works at Buzzfeed and they’ve posted articles on her weight loss journey in the past. I’m a hardcore media consumer, Buzzfeed seems to get me, her Instagram is pretty, and Weight Watchers has featured her in the past. I’m just your average 20-something who is too in tune with the stuff on the internet.

Final note regarding avocado toast (because not enough can be said about it). One of the “original” (who decided this, I don’t know) avocado toasts was served at Cafe Gitane in New York. I happened to go to New York a few years ago and tried it there for the first time, pre-avocado toast explosion.

Truly a life changing experience.

They use a hearty bread as the base (not hugely different than the Ezekiel bread), and then mix the avocado with lemon juice and olive oil and top it all off with some red pepper flakes. Oh man, is it divine. If you go to NY, try it. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

