It’s all greek to me

 

For those of you also on your own weight loss/health journeys, do you ever make food choices and think “I have zero idea how this is going to taste, but what the hell, let’s give it a shot?”

Well, that’s most of my life. Flying by the seat of my pants.

*cough* obviously not *cough* I’m a law student *cough*

When it comes to food, I’ve always been one of those people who throws random things together and calls it a meal (or in this case, a snack). Sometimes the combinations are amazing, sometimes they’re awful, but it rarely matters because I’ll never be able to re-create the hodgepodge again.

That concept is a bit wasted on this post because surely the snack below is someone’s favorite thing in the world and seems perfectly normal to people, but I promise next time I whip together an odd mix of stuff I’ll prove what I’m talking about.

Anyway, I just never considered the idea of pomegranate seeds in yogurt before. I try to stick to the lowest calorie/highest protein yogurt around, which is generally Greek yogurt. In this case, it’s Fage 0% which basically just tastes sour and is very thick. They make all kinds of cool varieties with mix-ins and such, but most of them are just pure sugar. Pomegranate seeds were a surprisingly delicious choice.

Greek Yogurt with Pomegranate Seeds – 3 SP

1 Fage 0% Greek Yogurt – 2 SP

2 TBSP Pomegranate Seeds – 0 SP

1 TSP Chia Seeds – 1 SP

Total SP: 3

Like I said above, the pomegranate seeds made for a great add-in without all the sugar of the prepackaged flavorful yogurts.

The chia seeds, as always, were just there. It’s been a few weeks that I’ve been using them on stuff, and honestly I still don’t get it. They literally taste like nothing to me and they’re so small there really isn’t a “crunch” factor. Seriously, someone explain to me what the deal is.

Overall, this was a great, very light snack and the cool, refreshing quality of the pomegranate seeds definitely helped to break up the thick, sourness of the Greek yogurt. Plus, the protein in the yogurt helped keep me full through that dreaded 3 p.m. lull.

 

Leave a Reply

