call of the wild [salmon]

Today’s post is proof that I’m not too shabby in the kitchen when I actually put in a little effort. I mean just look at that perfectly cooked salmon!

Before whipping up this absolutely delicious meal I spent the majority of my afternoon in the blistering heat (okay it was like 87° F) cleaning up my backyard. Well it’s really a patio. Whatever.  Why would I do this you ask? The people who lived here before me planted bougainvillea. Honestly it is one of the most beautiful plants when it blooms, but what a royal pain in the butt. It grows like a weed and drops flowers EVERYWHERE. That is why you’ve heard this clean-up adventure mentioned before. It’s an on-going battle and the bane of my existence.

Sorry, tangent over. Anyway, this salmon was absolutely amazing, if I do say so myself. The flavors were rocking and it was cooked to perfection. After a long day of traversing my ladder and sweeping for what felt like days, cooking seemed like an impossible feat, but boy was it worth it.

Salmon with Cauliflower Rice – 10 SP

8 oz Salmon – 9 SP

1 TSP Olive Oil – 1 SP

1/2 C San Marzano Tomatoes (roasted in the oven) – 0 SP

Fresh Basil (grew it myself!) – 0 SP

1/2 C Riced Cauliflower – 0 SP

1 TSP Balsamic Vinegar – 0 SP

Total SP: 10

If you’re looking for a stellar combo of flavors, here’s the list of seasonings I used on the salmon: Trader Joe’s Everything But the Bagel Seasoning, Ground Pepper, Red Pepper Flakes, and Lemon Juice. The olive oil listed above was actually just under the salmon to help keep it from sticking.

I roasted the tomatoes next to the salmon on a baking sheet and then tossed the basil on last (the brown spot appeared from the heat of the tomato). What would have really taken the salmon up to another level would have been a sprinkling of parmesan, but I’d just run out and forgot to restock. In case you’re wondering – 350° for 15-20 minutes.

A note on the riced cauliflower. First time trying it — wowzers is that some bland stuff. Thank goodness I tossed that little bit of balsamic on it, but it could really stand to have much more added to it. If you’ve got experience with riced cauliflower, let me know how you make it more interesting!

 

Leave a Reply

