Un-Poaching Believable

Guys. I did it. I poached an egg.

For those of you who have poached eggs numerous times successfully, you’re probably wondering what the big hoopla is about.

Until this morning I had never even tried poaching an egg because of said hoopla. I feel like the world is full of anti-poachers (of the egg variety, obviously).

But it really wasn’t that bad! I followed a very simple set of instructions and video I found after a quick google search, and voila… the picture below. Of course I was so excited I took like 7 photos as quickly as possible (so I could enjoy my new found poached glory), and all of them are pretty much awful. So don’t mind the funky shot.

Whatever, the eggs were perfect and I felt like Sunday brunch à la my kitchen table was taken to a new level of amazing.

IMG_4723.jpg

Avocado and Salmon Toast with Poached Eggs – 12 SP

2 Slices Ezekiel Bread – 4 SP

2 oz Nova Salmon Pieces – 1 SP

1 Wholly Guacamole 100 Calorie Pack – 3 SP

2 Large Eggs – 4 SP

Watermelon & Pineapple – 0 SP

Total SP: 12

Clearly this was not a light brunch in terms of smart points, but I’m certain between the always-filling Ezekiel bread and the side of fresh pineapple and watermelon I’ll probably just have a yogurt midday instead of a full lunch.

Seriously though if you have been fearful of trying to poach an egg, just dive in and do it.

Below are 2 key tips to consider when poaching an egg from a novice egg poacher, who has absolutely no right to be doling out poaching advice:

1 – Use the small bowl/ramekin to bring the egg as close to the water as possible while placing the egg into the pot’s whirlpool — I’ve heard horror stories about them turning into a flying glob.

2 – Don’t even try poaching an egg if you don’t have a slotted spoon. If you don’t have a slotted spoon, I promise the investment is going to pay off for poaching eggs and all sorts of other kitchen activities in the future. #adulting

Leave a Reply

