sweet tooth satisfied

Tonight, I wanted chocolate cake. Or my favorite ice cream sandwich. Or cookies. Or just about anything that would instantly make me feel good for .5 seconds, and terrible for a week.

Sure, there are plenty of options out there for low-fat desserts, including some low cal ice creams, but honestly no matter how hard you tell your brain to enjoy them, I feel like they just never get the job done.

So, despite a 5 minute internal debate, I didn’t get in my car and run to the store. Instead I gave myself a little treat of light whipped cream, on top of a healthier choice of yogurt.

Yogurt with Whipped Cream – 5 SP

Siggi’s Raspberry Yogurt – 3 SP

1 TBSP Light Whipped Cream – 1 SP

1 TSP Trader Joe’s Super Seed Blend – 1 SP

Total SP: 5

Here’s the deal, light whipped cream is basically as delicious as real whipped cream. While the yogurt is plenty sweet on its own, the whipped cream made it feel more like dessert and less like a plain jane sweet tooth satisfier.

The super seed blend is something I keep on hand, and adds a nice little crunch.

Clearly this isn’t as wonderfully indulgent as my fave dessert, but It’s It ice cream sandwiches are 15 SP, so I guess I can feel better about this little 5-er treat.

Also note, if you haven’t tried Siggi’s yogurt (not an ad), I would definitely recommend them. I know here in California they carry them at the big chain grocery stores, so that’s probably true in other parts of the country as well.

My take on it is that, it’s not as sour as greek yogurt, but similar in consistency. Plus there are 16 grams of protein in that little container! Not too shabby. I like the vanilla and the raspberry flavors.

Leave a Reply

